Latest blog entries http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/latest Wed, 26 Apr 2017 05:42:23 -0400 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Still Undiagnosed? 3 Options to Try. http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/still-undiagnosed-3-options-to-try-1-2 http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/still-undiagnosed-3-options-to-try-1-2 b2ap3_thumbnail_ChronicIllnessCure.jpgSource: Huff Post, Healthy Living

Author: Deborah J. Cornwall

Do you suffer from undiagnosed or untreated chronic conditions? When multiple body systems that are supposed to work automatically don't work as they should and create a plethora of potentially disabling symptoms.

Functional Medicine offers a potential way of accelerating the diagnostic process.

"Functional medicine is an approach to patient care that looks beyond symptoms to define and treat the causes of debilitating chronic illnesses. It's focused less on individual symptoms and body parts than on learning which of the patient's biological processes aren't working, and why. As a result, it's particularly well suited to stubborn, complex medical conditions."

If you are desperate to find out why you are sick and how to restore your normal life, Functional Medicine might be worth considering. Call 3rd Opinion (Willmar, MN) (320) 235-2101 for more information on Functional Medicine and if it's right for you. 


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Tue, 30 Sep 2014 09:24:40 -0400
Still Undiagnosed? 3 Options to Try. http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/still-undiagnosed-3-options-to-try-1-2-3 http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/still-undiagnosed-3-options-to-try-1-2-3 b2ap3_thumbnail_ChronicIllnessCure.jpgSource: Huff Post, Healthy Living

Author: Deborah J. Cornwall

Do you suffer from undiagnosed or untreated chronic conditions? When multiple body systems that are supposed to work automatically don't work as they should and create a plethora of potentially disabling symptoms.

Functional Medicine offers a potential way of accelerating the diagnostic process.

"Functional medicine is an approach to patient care that looks beyond symptoms to define and treat the causes of debilitating chronic illnesses. It's focused less on individual symptoms and body parts than on learning which of the patient's biological processes aren't working, and why. As a result, it's particularly well suited to stubborn, complex medical conditions."

If you are desperate to find out why you are sick and how to restore your normal life, Functional Medicine might be worth considering. Call 3rd Opinion (Willmar, MN) (320) 235-2101 for more information on Functional Medicine and if it's right for you. 


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Tue, 30 Sep 2014 09:24:40 -0400
How Much Seafood Should You Be Eating? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/how-much-seafood-should-you-be-eating-1 http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/how-much-seafood-should-you-be-eating-1 b2ap3_thumbnail_201409SeafoodCalc1.jpg

 

The truth is, there’s no universal answer. So many factors contribute to safe amounts of mercury: individual’s age, weight, pregnancy status and more. The healthy omega-3 fatty acids in seafood benefits us all. 

The Environmental Working Group has created a great Seafood Calculator and Good Seafood Guide – to help people like you shop for fish and shellfish that are lower in mercury, higher in omega-3 fatty acids and sustainably produced.

"This interactive tool offers people critical details about seafood safety – details that are missing from the draft guidance by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the Environmental Protection Agency, which recently recommended that pregnant and nursing women increase their fish consumption to eight to 12 ounces of seafood per week and encouraged young children to eat fish twice a week."

This user-friendly tool helps consumers like you decide which seafood to eat, which to approach with caution and which to limit or avoid. Check it out and share this exciting tool with your friends and family!

Source: Environmental Working Group Seafood Calculator and Good Seafood Guide

 


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Fri, 26 Sep 2014 13:04:06 -0400
The Health Care Paradigm is Shifting - A Look at Type 2 Diabetes http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/the-health-care-paradigm-is-shifting-a-look-at-type-2-diabetes http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/the-health-care-paradigm-is-shifting-a-look-at-type-2-diabetes b2ap3_thumbnail_Type2Diabetes.jpgSource: Post Independent

Scott Rollins, Integrate Your Health, Free Press Health Columnist

"The health care paradigm is shifting. Many physicians are changing the way they practice, analyzing the systems that keep us “healthy” and focusing on the root cause of disease instead of just treating the symptoms. Applying a holistic lens to our patients, we are also integrating complementary and alternative therapies to help them achieve wellness. This is the essence of what is called “functional medicine.” "


In this article we take a closer look at Type 2 Diabetes and how Functional Medicine can come "to the rescue." This short and sweet summary of how to best manage ones diabetes covers everything from evaluating to treating patients with Type 2 Diabetes, Functional Medicine really gets to the root of the disease. As the article mentions, "Patient behavior is more important than anything else and we can’t gloss over some of what I call “keys to great health,” including mental attitude, eating healthy, exercising regularly, getting plenty of restful sleep, and managing stress."

Read the entire article here to understand how Functional Medicine is the solution to Type 2 Diabetes. Evaluating, examining, treating, and monitoring under the lens of Functional Medicine is what is done at 3rd Opinion (Willmar, MN). For more information on treatment options for Type 2 Diabetes in Willmar, MN please contact our office (320) 347-1212. 


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Wed, 17 Sep 2014 15:58:31 -0400
Focus on the Root Causes of Disease http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/focus-on-the-root-causes-of-disease http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/focus-on-the-root-causes-of-disease  

Health Column: Focusing on root causes of diseaseb2ap3_thumbnail_MedicalSolutions.jpg

Source: Post Independent. GJ Free Press health columnist Scott Rollins, M.D., is board certified with the American Board of Family Practice and the American Board of Anti-Aging and Regenerative Medicine.

This Health Column from Post Independent talks about the health care paradigm and how it is shifting. Many physicians are in fact changing the way they practice "medicine". 

"Applying a holistic lens to our patients, we are also integrating complementary and alternative therapies to help them achieve wellness. This is the essence of what is called 'functional medicine'."

Read this article (CLICK HERE), to find out Function Medicine comes to the rescue to evaluate and treat patients. Examining the "why" of the issue - examining and emphasizing the patient's role in their own health is the root of Functional Medicine.

Do you want to know the "Keys to Great Health"? Read Dr. Rollins perspective and gain insight on how your behavior can affect your health more than anything else. 

Are you interested in hearing more about Functional Medicine? Contact us at 3rd Opinion (320) 235-2101 to discuss your individual situation and to see if Functional Medicine is the right path to your health. 

As the father of modern medicine, Dr. William Osler, stated "It is much more important to know what sort of a patient has a disease than what sort of a disease a patient has."


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Wed, 10 Sep 2014 11:36:33 -0400
Alternative Therapy - Is It For You? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/alternative-therapy-is-it-for-you http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/alternative-therapy-is-it-for-you b2ap3_thumbnail_ChronicDiseasePrevention.jpg

 

Have you wanted to try an alternative therapy to help with a certain diagnosis? You might be struggling with a diagnosis or condition - whether it's hypertension, high cholesterol, different sensitivities. We may have the right IV Therapy for you. Depending on a variety of factors - your health, your kidney function, and other important factors - IV Therapy could be a great option for your diagnosis. A consultation with Dr. Sult would determine if you are eligible to take part in IV Therapy.

Why are we are called 3rd Opinion? Most of our patients have been to their primay care doctor, the local specialist, perhaps even a University Center and even the Mayo Clinic. These institutions are great but generally ask the question "What". We ask the qusestion "Why". If you are at the point where you are asking “Why”, call (320) 347-1212 to ask about IV Therapy and if it’s the right treatment for you and your specific condition.  


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Fri, 05 Sep 2014 15:28:06 -0400
Health Care or Disease Care: Which Would You Choose? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/health-care-or-disease-care-which-would-you-choose http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/health-care-or-disease-care-which-would-you-choose Health Care or Disease Care: Which Would You Choose? 5 Questions to Ask Yourself and Why. I liked this article from Dr. Jeffrey Bland, President of the Personalized Lifestyle Medicine Institute. Here at 3rd Opinion, we treat patients, not diseases. As you know, most patients have been trained to think that diagnosis is the most important thing. It is health we are after.

(From the article - link below) To determine if your doctor is focused on health care or disease care, here are five questions you need to ask yourself:

  • Does your doctor discuss your diet, activity patterns, work place environment, and stress patterns with you?
  • Does your doctor do a comprehensive health history including all of your signs and symptoms?
  • Does your doctor ask you whether your overall health has changed over the past year?
  • Does your doctor discuss connections with you about how your various signs and symptoms might relate to a specific cause? 
  • Does your doctor discuss a personalized lifestyle medicine program for you?

Read this article to ask yourself some important questions before deciding - is Health Care or Disease Care right for you? Feel free to contact us at 3rd Opinion (320) 347-1212 for more information or to schedule your consultation with me, Dr. Sult.

(Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/jeffrey-bland/health-care-or-disease-ca_1_b_5504869.html, Posted 6/18/14)


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Thu, 03 Jul 2014 14:48:28 -0400
Evidence Based Medicine: A Lecture from Dr. Sult http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/evidence-based-medicine-a-lecture-from-dr-sult http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/evidence-based-medicine-a-lecture-from-dr-sult Dr. Sult presents a lecture on Evidence Based Medicine. From Dr. Sult's new book "Just Be Well" to Organizing [your] Patient Clinical Imbalances - Dr. Sult speaks truth on personal lifestyle factors and so much more. What do you know about Functional Medicine? How is it different from Standard Medicine? Is it different?

How is Functional Medicine Different?

  • Standard Medicine is looking for a Diagnosis - with the Diagnosis the treatment is set
  • Functional Medicine is trying to restore high level wellness - high level wellness will not support disease.

How much do you know about your "organs"? Take Dr. Sult's Pop Quiz below to find out:

  • What organ of the body produces 3/4 of the neurotransmitters?
  • What organ of the body contains 2/3 + of the immune tissue?
  • What "organ" of the body contains 10 times more cells than the rest of your body combined?
  • What organ of the body houses a genome 100 times larger than the human genome?
  • What organ of the body has a metabolic activity greater than the liver?

Watch Dr. Sult's lecture below for the answers to the Pop Quiz and so much more information about your body and how you can better take care of it. Personalize your lifestyle factors to maximize your health and wellness.

Contact the 3rd Opinion office (320) 347-1212 for more information.

{youtube}RCM8A31OjBE{/youtube}


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Wed, 14 May 2014 12:35:25 -0400
Non-Surgical Treatment for Chronic Pain http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/non-surgical-treatment-for-chronic-pain http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/non-surgical-treatment-for-chronic-pain Prolotherapy (or ligament reconstruction therapy), is a safe, non-surgical treatment for chronic pain. Chronic pain often caused by ligaments being stretched and weakened:

  • Neck
  • Back
  • Shoulders
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Athletic Injuries of the Joints
  • Whiplash-Type Pains

Prolotherapy targets the weakened and stretched ligaments. The treatment itself is simple but requires an expert understanding of the anatomy. Once the problem areas are identified, they will be injected with medication designed to stimulate a healing response. Studies show that ligaments that have been injected with these medications grow larger and stronger. The injections are carried out after local anesthesia.

Generally a series of injections is needed at two to eight week intervals. A total of 3 to 10 treatments will be needed. In some cases, more treatments are needed. Prolotherapy is neither the start nor the end of your treatment; it is the middle. After your Prolotherapy, a comprehensive physical medicine program will be designed for you.

Is Prolotherapy right for you? Contact Dr. Sult and the team to find out whether this approach is best for you. We look forward to connecting with you soon! (320) 347-1212.


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Fri, 02 May 2014 09:10:08 -0400
Brain Training - the Use of a Brain-Computer Interface http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/brain-training-the-use-of-a-brain-computer-interface http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/brain-training-the-use-of-a-brain-computer-interface Have you heard of personalized brain training? "The neuroscience technology sector continues to be highly profitable, with growth estimates for the brain training and cognitive assessment sector reaching up to $5 billion by 2015." states Robert J. Szczerba, Contributor. Read his article here: "Brain Training And The End Of The Prozac Generation" for information on the "Prozac Generation" and how brain training may be a solution of the future.

Source: Forbes, TECH 3/04/2014 @ 8:16AM


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Mon, 24 Mar 2014 11:51:19 -0400
Chelation Therapy: Clinically Relevant or Just Quackery? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/chelation-therapy-clinically-relevant-or-just-quackery http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/chelation-therapy-clinically-relevant-or-just-quackery (Source: http://www.empr.com, ;Ronald L. Hoffman, MD, February 10, 2014)

Chelation therapy, a type of intravenous (IV) treatment promoted by some members of the complementary and alternative medicine community, has long been mired in controversy.

Often dismissed as quackery, chelation therapy was the subject of a recently completed NIH study (Trial to Assess Chelation Therapy [TACT]) that showed the practice to be of moderate benefit to heart-attack survivors. Yet the controversy continues unabated, with some calling the study misguided or flawed and few in the conventional medical community willing to embrace chelation therapy as a legitimate option for heart patients.



Click here to read how Chelation Therapy works.

For more information on Chelation Therapy, click here or contact 3rd Opinion at (320) 347-1212. See if you or a loved one can benefit from this remarkable therapy.


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Thu, 13 Mar 2014 16:47:07 -0400
LOCAL CLINICIAN RECOGNIZED AS A GRADUATE OF THE INSTITUTE FOR FUNCTIONAL MEDICINE’S CERTIFICATION PROGRAM http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/local-clinician-recognized-as-a-graduate-of-the-institute-for-functional-medicine-s-certification-program http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/local-clinician-recognized-as-a-graduate-of-the-institute-for-functional-medicine-s-certification-program

Thomas A. Sult, M.D. Joins Elite Group of IFM Certified Practitioners

Willmar, MN, January 7, 2014 –
Of total healthcare costs in the United States, more than 75% is due to chronic conditions.

The key to reversing the rapidly spreading epidemic of chronic disease is to address the underlying causes and solutions for chronic disease, which are primarily driven by the lifelong, daily interaction among an individual’s genetics, environment, and lifestyle choices. Functional medicine not only incorporates the latest in genetic science and systems biology, but it also enables health care practitioners to practice proactive, predictive, personalized medicine while empowering patients to take an active role in their own health.


Read More]]>
michael@karmamarketingandmedia.com (Administrator) Healthcare Wed, 19 Feb 2014 11:58:50 -0500
"Thank you for saving my daughter's life..." http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/thank-you-for-saving-my-daughter-s-life http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/thank-you-for-saving-my-daughter-s-life I'd like to share a letter from the mother of one of my younger patients that was treated for Lyme Disease:

 

Dear Dr. Sult,

 

I would like to start out this letter by thanking you for saving my daughter’s life.  I have thought about you many times over the last 2 years and have felt I needed to write this letter for a long time.  I’m not sure if you remember Grace as one of your patients fighting Lyme disease.  She came to you when she was about 7 or 8.  That is when you were still at Williams Integracare.  I was never one for expressing my feelings openly to you about how much I appreciated you and the care you gave my family!  I hope you realize you have a special gift for working with people.  You are the best listener I have ever met in my life.  I have referred many people to you over the last years and I am sure they had the greatest care, just as we did.

 

I want you to know how well Grace is doing.  We are still noticing improvements as we look back over each six month period.  We still find ourselves saying things like, “She could not do that six months ago.”  My months and years all run together but I believe she has not seen you since 2009 or 2010.  She has been off all medicine for about a 3 year period.  She is back to playing 3 sports and is just an amazing kid.  She is 13 now and an adult in a child’s body.  She found herself a job this summer and is working as an intern for a company that set up a scholarship account for her so they could pay her for her amazing work.  Her next goals are to write a book and is working on her path to go to Harvard!  Whatever she does with her life, we are so happy and thankful to God just to see her run down the basketball court and be a kid!

 

I hope you would consider doing an interview with her if she ever gets that book going!

 

Again, thank you and know how amazing you are!

 

Jackie

 

(Grace’s mom)

 


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Thu, 14 Nov 2013 09:17:47 -0500
The Gluten Summit http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/the-gluten-summit http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/the-gluten-summit Immunity Matters... Remarkable Experts... Practical Details

Free Global Online Gluten Summit

This free online event hosted by a good friend, co-presenter at the Institute for Functional Medicine, and international expert Dr. Tom O’Bryan, will teach you details that many world experts know, in an understandable manner you can use with your family at dinner and in the grocery store. This program is taught by those leading world experts!

This complimentary on-line event is designed to raise the bar, change the game, and indeed quiet the repetitive nay-sayers who just don’t get the relevance of immunity in applied brain science. Over time, undetected, untreated Gluten Sensitivity can result in repeated psychiatric medication treatment failures.

Denial is over; Science is in.

Science Matters – Gluten Effects Brain Function From Alzheimer’s to ADHD

First: Sign up now then look at the diseases/conditions aggravated by overlooked gluten sensitivity- just below. We see these many conditions repeatedly written off as incurable everyday at 3rd Opinion.

See Anything Familiar?

Take a quick look at these many symptoms from Celiac Central and see why these Gluten Sensitivity issues remain so prevalent as chronic illnesses – and so frequently arrive in psychiatric offices globally. And while you’re there, take a look at the neurological and brain references.

Stay Tuned For More At CorePsych On This Gluten Summit

When you click on this Gluten Summit link you will see 25 of the world experts on Gluten Sensitivity – it’s an unusually comprehensive look at the mind-gut details that matter.

One more quick reference: See Grain Brain, a book strongly recommended by another very interesting colleague, Dr David Perlmutter, if you wish to read more excellent details even before the Gluten Summit.

Stay tuned, this Summit will be outstanding!


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Sun, 20 Oct 2013 15:42:37 -0400
Are We Entitled to Healthcare? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/are-we-entitled-to-healthcare http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/are-we-entitled-to-healthcare This is a forum on ObamaCare, specifically raising the question, "Are we entitled to healthcare?"  Great points are made from various perspectives in this discussion.  Here is a portion from the argument on www.meandmydoctor.com that I found to be particularly informative and interesting!

*Annonymous:

Civics lesson:
Independent of society and relationship to other people, no one has any rights whatsoever. The individual in isolation has no restriction of action except that posed by the physical world. When two or more people are in proximity and therefore have the opportunity for interaction, they still have no restrictions on their actions. They retain complete freedom (but that includes actions such as stealing, maiming, tricking, and killing the other). It is in order to mutually avoid these events that groups of people agree to actions which are to be prohibited and others which shall be allowed with or without limitation. On a larger scale, the participation of every person in this type of agreement becomes technically impractical and unlikely. In that setting, history has shown us the evil that men will do upon each other and from that, we have reflected on what actions are central to our identities as happy individuals. These are things that have been found to be inherent to the human condition in relation to others, such as religious belief, the expression of ideas, and the pursuit of those things necessary for life (food, shelter, etc.). Even these things face restriction when they impact their same expression in others.
 
Healthcare is a service that is provided through the cumulative knowledge, efforts, and technology only possible through centuries of collective human civilization and cooperation and is a service that only exists within the infrastructure that maintains that civilization today. It is almost impossible in this era to live in isolation, meaning that no one is living apart from this societal web. It is our collective imperative to decide, as a part of our societal contract, whether healthcare is a critical element that should be preserved for all, in some measure, as a "right."
 
I think it is terribly difficult to argue that a valuable benefit such as healthcare, which has been the product of a complex, interconnected society inherently dependent on the cooperation of its members in myriad ways, should be available in a pattern that excludes any significant numbers of people. I am not alone in this and that is why almost universally ERs are required to service all persons who show up at their doors. ER care, however, requires extensive technology and critical care level services that are highly resource intensive (measurable in the amount that it costs). In contrast, preventative care services have been shown to accomplish a level of healthcare that prevents utilization of such resource-intensive services and results in overall decreased stress on overall societal healthcare resource utilization.
 
Chronic and acute health issues from preventable diseases/conditions attributable to low levels of healthcare resource provision result in significant amounts of lost productivity in society as well.
 
So no, healthcare might not be an inherent right (that is, if you're not religious, as many religious traditions endorse care for the sick). But we'd be absolutely stupid to not wish to provide it to all. You'd have to be completely ignorant of the fundamentals of human society, the political history of the world, the amount of healthcare capabilities today, and the dynamics of current healthcare provision.
 

The full article can be found here:

http://www.meandmydoctor.com/2012/07/setting-record-straight-on-doctor-pay.html?fwcc=1&fwcl=1&fwl=1&m=1

 

 


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Healthcare Mon, 14 Oct 2013 19:05:23 -0400
Are Dangerous Pesticides Lurking in Your Food? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/are-dangerous-pesticides-lurking-in-your-food http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/are-dangerous-pesticides-lurking-in-your-food EWGImportant Message from the Environmental Working Group:

Dear Friend,

How do you fight back against a Goliath like Monsanto?

For the last 20 years, the Environmental Working Group has empowered our community with the most important tool against agribusiness giants: information.

This information is what helps you avoid eating food with genetically engineered ingredients, unnecessary antibiotics and toxic chemicals like organophosphate pesticides - which you can find in almost any grocery store.

But we can only keep revealing what's actually lurking in your meat and produce - what Monsanto and Big Ag want to hide from you - if you step up to fund our crucial research efforts before the April 30 deadline. We can't shine a light on Big Ag's dirty secrets without your support.

Click here to donate before the April 30 deadline to make sure our research can tell you how to avoid dangerous pesticides in your food. Give $10 or more today and we'll send you our Dirty Dozen Plus and Clean 15 bag tag as a thank-you.

When you aren't armed with information that only EWG can provide, you don't know if you're buying food that the corporate mega-farms sprayed with toxic chemicals or meat from animals treated with unnecessary antibiotics that can create potentially deadly superbugs.

Agribusiness giants like Monsanto are producing genetically engineered ingredients used in most processed foods - nearly all field corn and soy in the U.S. are genetically engineered - but you'd never know it because they don't have to tell you.

That's why EWG is here - to fight back against Big Ag's harmful practices by giving you the information you need to feed your family healthier and safer food. Your donation before the April 30 deadline ensures we'll be able to continue the research into what's hiding in your grocery store.

Thank you for everything you do for the EWG community.


 Ken Cook
 President, Environmental Working Group
Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Uncategorized Fri, 26 Apr 2013 18:33:13 -0400
FED UP: Why We Must Cook Our Way to Health http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/fed-up-why-we-must-cook-our-way-to-health http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/fed-up-why-we-must-cook-our-way-to-health Kluge familyA great read by Dr. Mark Hyman!

Last week, I flew to Greenville, South Carolina to meet with the Kluge family. I talked with them about their health, looking to understand the roots of their family crisis of morbid obesity, pre-diabetes, renal failure, disability, financial stress, and hopelessness.

We talked about how they could dig themselves out of their scary downward spiral, a spiral that is affecting more than 150 million Americans (including tens of millions of children) struggling with the physical, social, and financial burden of obesity and its complications.

Click Here to read more from Dr. Hyman - everything from 5 Reasons Most Diets Fail to The Key to Automatic Weight Loss and more.


Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Uncategorized Wed, 24 Apr 2013 16:58:16 -0400
Ever Heard of Gastrointestinal Biofilms? http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/ever-heard-of-gastrointestinal-biofilms http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/ever-heard-of-gastrointestinal-biofilms Dr. Kara Fitzgerald explains why they can be our friends!

Biofilm

Gastrointestinal biofilms are an important topic, and those comprised of pathogenic microbes are getting much well-deserved attention in the integrative medical community. However, in keeping with the sIgA topic, I want to give a shout-out to commensal biofilms, which are vital to GI health and deserve similar attention.

Biofilms are everywhere, allowing bacteria to survive -- good or bad. They are found at the solid-liquid interface in most environments. Indeed, dental plaque is a biofilm, as is the slime on an icky bathtub. Biofilms are comprised of bacteria (and/or other microbes) and an extracellular matrix of excreted polymeric polysaccharides.

Simply put: bugs + goo = slime (biofilm). 

Click here to learn more.
Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Uncategorized Fri, 19 Apr 2013 17:13:23 -0400
Patient-Centered Diabetes Care in Children http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/patient-centered-diabetes-care-in-children http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/patient-centered-diabetes-care-in-children An insightful case report published by Global Advances in Health and Medicine!

Child at doctors office

Type 1 diabetes mellitus in children is associated with various medical, psychological, emotional, social, and organizational hurdles. Patient-centered disease management should address all patient-relevant issues in an individualized, systems-oriented, and multidisciplinary approach.
 
To read the rest of the case report, click here.




Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Uncategorized Wed, 17 Apr 2013 15:15:07 -0400
How Exercise Unlocks Your Good Genes http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/how-exercise-unlocks-your-good-genes http://3rdopinion.us/index.php/easyblog/entry/how-exercise-unlocks-your-good-genes A great video by RealAge!

Want a simple way to lower your cancer risk and prevent a fatty liver? Orthopedic surgeon Vonda Wright shares the gene-boosting benefits of regular exercise in this clip.
Read More]]>
nurse@aestheticsofwillmar.com (Dr. Sult ) Uncategorized Mon, 15 Apr 2013 17:49:59 -0400